I love films, especially ones which resonate with me personally. I just watched ‘The Miracle Worker’ with Anne Bancroft and Patty Duke, great stuff. I’ve taught a bit, so I was like ‘I get this’. One of my favorite films is ‘The Shawshank Redemption. Realistically I’d say I wouldn’t last five minutes in prison, but until I’m put to the test, I would like to think that, like Andy, hope would keep me going. However recently I watched something that resonanted like an earthquake to my very core!! Ep X from the 3rd season of Private Practise! I’m not being facitious, it’s a really good show. The show runner is a woman and it shows. Every other week, the main protaginist, Addison, has a 30 something dilemma which tends to hit a nerve, but after ep X in particular, I’m reeling still.

Basically she got stuck in a car in a (of course) potentially deadly situation with a pregnant woman about to give birth. Meanwhile the woman’s injured husband lay outside, also (of course) near death. Anyway, trying to compell the woman to hold on, Addison urged her “you have to live, if you die, that man outside there will be broken..if I die, no one will be broken, they’ll be sad, but not broken, you can’t die, you can’t break that man.” You can see where this is going can’t you…

NO ONE WILL BE BROKEN IF I DIE!!!

Sure, like Addison, people will be very very sad (…I presume) . My pal Sinead said she’d be ‘bent’! Someone else came up with ‘a bit skewed’, but bent and skewed are very far from ‘broken’! ‘What about your parents’ people have asked (I’ve been dwelling on this for a while now) Well, yeah, again I presume they’d be devastated, but no more so then if one of the other many siblings got run over! And anyway, it’s their job so it doesn’t really count.

No, I want some man who is so passionatly in love with ME (ME ME ME) that his world would be DESTROYED where I to kick it while giving birth in a precariously balenced vechicle. Obviously I don’t put this on my internet dating profile and I don’t mention it on a first date, and it’ s not that I want to break someone pre se, but it’s just the princible of the thing. ‘Bent’ just doesn’t cut it.

